Ógra minors get gold in Thriller 30/10/2010

posted 4 Feb 2011, 13:34 by Unknown user

Minors Take County Title in a thrilling contest against Ballyhale Shamrocks.                                                                                                                                                                             A triumphant outing for the Ogra Graignamanagh/Blacks & Whites Minor hurling team was greeted by the masses in Thomastown on Saturday 30th October 2010..

Ogra battled through blustery conditions to overcome a defiant Ballyhale Shamrocks outfit by a score line of 4-09 to 2-12 after extra time.  Ballyhale stormed into an early lead scoring six points in the first twenty minutes with the only response coming from a Lee Kinsella free.  Playing against a stiff breeze in the first half, the game seemed to be slowly getting out of reach after a fine move from Ogra ended in a great save by the Shamrocks keeper to keep the margin at 5 points. That was until a fortunate goal from a long range free struck by Lee Kinsella and deflected to the net by Ryan O’Halloran reduced the deficit.

Joe Kelly at full back marshalled the county man Richie Reid with great effect and limited scoring opportunities to pot shots from difficult angles. Joe was given plenty of assistance by a rock solid centre back in Bernard Hennessy and two trusty corner backs in the form of Ciaran O’Brien and Thomas Joyce.  Spurned chances by both sides meant that a low scoring first half left Ogra trailing by 6 at the break. 1-07 to 1-01

A more energetic Ogra emerged after half time spearheaded by the massively influential pairing of Adam Kennedy and James Doyle in midfield. Michael Doyle also overcame a virus to make a substitute appearance at half time and his impact was seen instantly as he popped up all over the field and setting up the first score of the second half, a point by Ryan O’Halloran for the green and black of Ogra.  Brian Barcoe also recovering from the flu came in to replace the lively Gary McDonald.  James Meaney was switched back to full back in a move which proved a touch of genius by the men on the sides as he took no prisoners around the small square. A solid performance by Adam Canning at wing forward was applauded by the strong following as he made way for Peter Kavanagh early in the second half.

Ogra seemed to have weathered the storm from the first half and had taken a firm grip on the game as they moved a point ahead.  Then came a colossal shock to the system of Ogra as talisman Lee Kinsella was shown a straight red card for an off the ball incident.

With the extra man, Ballyhale forged ahead again.  Then in a frantic final 15 minutes, the Ogra forwards burst to life with Ryan O Halloran claiming 1-2, Eoin Bolger and Brian Barcoe also printing their names on the score sheet. Victory was in our sights when a long range free from Bernard Hennessy sailed all the way to the net to give us a 2 point lead. With scenes of last week flashing back, Ballyhale sneaked two late points to equalize and force extra time. 3-05 to 1-11

The most telling part of extra time came in the first 5 minutes when an Ogra attack ended in Thomas O’Donnell being pulled down in the square.  Referee Ollie O’Neill awarded a penalty which Bernard Hennessy duly converted. The Shamrocks kept the pressure on by scoring a goal and a point.  This could have been much higher but for some excellent saves by the man between the posts, Seamus Kavanagh. Emmet Foley worked really hard to set up attacks and 2 more frees from Bernard and points from Brian Barcoe and Ryan O’Halloran sealed victory. The sound of the final whistle was music to the ears of the jubilant supporters of Graignamanagh and Blacks&Whites, as the first major title for the Club was on its way back to the Parish.

Team: Seamus Kavanagh, Ciaran O’Brien, Joe Kelly, Thomas Joyce, James Meaney, Bernard Hennessy, Thomas O’Donnell, James Doyle, Adam Kennedy, Gary McDonald, Eoin Bolger, Adam Canning , Ryan O’Halloran, Lee Kinsella, Emmet Foley, Michael Doyle, Brian Barcoe, Peter Kavanagh, James Coakley, Stephen Browne, Thomas Drennan, Trevor Murphy, Alan Murphy, James McCabe, James Barcoe, Liam Hearne, Gary Maher,Sean Doyle and Jim Ryan.

A big thank you must go to the Mentors: Pat Nolan, James Phelan, Ger Dowling, Martin Bolger & Michael Doyle for their commitment and dedication throughout the year.

A taste of some of the action below.

The Mossh

Dont drink all the lemonade boys

goal scorer and goal saver

Happy mentors

Happy families